Walter Lawrence Trophy awards

White-Hot Winner

Loughborough MCCU’s Rob White has won this year’s MCC Universities Award with a score of 174, made at Haselgrave Ground, on June 8 against Leeds/Bradford MCCU.

White’s innings was scored off 219 balls, including 18 fours and 4 sixes and, despite the game being drawn, helped Loughborough secure the 2016 MCCU 2-day Championship. Rob’s 174, the 20-year- old’s second century of the season, meant that he pipped his team mate Basil Akram, who had been leading the competition since early-season with a score of 160.

Born in Ealing and educated at Harrow School, White has represented Middlesex Second XI, U-15s and U-17s, and is in his second year at Loughborough, where he is studying psychology. He is the first Loughborough winner since the Award’s inception in 2006, and will receive a special silver medallion and prize of £500 at the Walter Lawrence Trophy Presentation Dinner in The Long Room at Lord’s on November 9.


Tom’s Opening Blast-Off

Worcestershire’s Tom Kohler-Cadmore launched the 2016 NatWest T20 Blast competition in explosive fashion with a 43-ball hundred to lead the challenge for this year’s Walter Lawrence Trophy. The 21-year-old smashed 5 sixes and 13 fours in his century helping to post an unassailable total of 225-6 for Worcestershire Rapids in their 38-run victory over Durham Jets at New Road on May 20. The opener went on to score 127 from 54 balls, including 8 sixes and 14 fours, the highest score for the county in 14 years of T20 cricket.

It was a night of double celebration for Kohler-Cadmore, nicknamed ‘Pepsi’, who’d shaved his head to raise money for Cancer Research after team-mate Tom Fell suffered a second cancer scare before the start of the season, as Worcestershire announced before the match that Fell had been given the all-clear .

An outstanding schoolboy cricketer, the Chatham-born Kohler-Cadmore won a cricket scholarship to Malvern College and was named Wisden Schools Cricketer Of The Year before making his Worcestershire debut in 2013.

Now in its 82nd year, the Walter Lawrence Trophy, awarded for the fastest hundred of the season, is open to all domestic county competitions as well as One-Day Internationals, T20 Internationals and Test Matches in England.


Tammy Tames ‘Em

England opener, Tammy Beaumont has surged into pole position for this year’s Walter Lawrence Women’s Award with a dazzling innings of 168 not out, scored against Pakistan Women in the Third One-Day International at Taunton on June 27.

A proverbial thorn in the Pakistan Women’s side, the 25-year-old Kent Women opener had scored 70 in the First ODI, and 104 in the Second, during which she shared an opening stand of 235 with Lauren Winfield. Tammy’s unbeaten innings of 168, scored from 144 balls and including 20 fours, earned her the Player of the Match award, as England wrapped up the series with a decisive 3-0 victory.

The quartet of Walter Lawrence Trophy awards, supported by Veuve Clicquot, encompass four distinct areas of the game: the Walter Lawrence Trophy, for the fastest century of the season; the MCC Universities award for the highest score by a batsman from the six MCC Universities against the first-class counties or in the MCCU Championship; The Walter Lawrence Women’s Award for the batsman who makes the highest individual score in a season from the ECB Women’s One-Day Cup and all England Women’s matches played on home soil, and, finally, the Walter Lawrence Schools Award for the highest score by a school batsman against MCC.


The Walter Lawrence Trophy 

The Walter Lawrence Trophy was instigated in 1934. It is awarded at the end of each English cricket
season to the batsman who scores the fastest century from the fewest balls received, (excluding wides).
Centuries scored in the Royal London One-Day Cup (50-over format), NatWest T20 Blast (20-over format) and the Specsavers County Championship, all qualify as well as Investec Test Matches, Royal London One-Day International matches and NatWest International T20 matches played in England. There is a panel of adjudicators to ensure that each potential award-winning century is made against authentic bowling.

In 1996 it was decided to exclude University games from the Trophy itself. With the establishment of the
MCC University Centres of Excellence, it was decided to introduce an award for the highest score by a
University batsman in the MCC Universities matches played against each other or the first-class Counties, this also includes the Varsity match.

In 2011 the trustees of the Walter Lawrence Trophy launched a new award for the highest schools’ scorer against MCC, and in 2012 added a fourth award, for the batsman who makes the highest individual score in a season from the Royal London Women’s One-Day Cup, the ECB Women’s County T20 Cup and all England Women’s matches played on home soil.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s